Bye, Bye, EOS Canon 1-Ds Mark II

I sold my perfection today.

Before you go feeling sorry for me, you should know a weight has been lifted from around my neck (the camera and my favorite lens combo weighs at least 5 lbs!)

Eight years ago, when I wanted to get into shooting stock photography, the professional I was training under was thrilled that I wanted to purchase the exact same camera he had. I was in over my head before my finger had first depressed the shutterbuggon.

What began was a journey of learning photography and Photoshop. I was a perfectionist, training under a perfectionist, with the best pro camera money could buy. No pressure, right? How could I have known the burden I would be under? I had all the world at my feet, ready for my viewpoint.

And it was a great viewpoint. One of the best, so I was told. But what I didn’t know at the time was that I was slowly siphoning the inspiration out of myself…preferring production to inspiration. It does make sense…I had a $20k debt to repay.

Well, that camera was sold this morning, and along with it went ?????. In exchange, I received a valuable lesson:

“It’s ok to “do” what you do…but don’t for one minute think you need the best stuff to do it with. Sculptures can be made with mud or playdoh…they are both art.”

Welcome to the journey after my lesson. Welcome, imperfection. Let’s see what kind of art we can make with you…

20131114-122623.jpg

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bye, Bye, EOS Canon 1-Ds Mark II

  1. userdand says:

    Well, the back-story explains some things. It certainly is undeniable that you have talent and a very good eye. I have seen a lot of your work on the net. So, you are saying you approached the photography more from a business venture standpoint, than as an art form for personal fulfillment?

    That causes me to reflect upon my life’s work. There have been very few days where I did not want to work at my chosen art. I take an existing canvas within a frame and enhance it with light and shade. I bring a desired tone and emotional weight to it, but am challenged by pre-existing limitations. It is in some ways more satisfying than painting upon a blank canvas. The setting dares me to express myself fully and I, through a series disciplined creative choices, seduce it into submission to my will. I make love with light.

    • feelingpaint says:

      At the point that I started the photography, I didn’t know enough about myself. I knew I wanted to do something meaningful, and my husband was eager to support me. I was open-minded and had no clue what it would feel like to be a “real photographer.” I was not prepared for the “WORK” or the “pressure” I would feel. Yes, I still continued under those things for a time, yet, it did not feed my fire…it blew it out.

      I can absolutely see how working with an already created canvas would be more challenging and more satisfying at the same time. Totally understand what you are saying!

how do you feel?

