“All things beautiful”

20131128-091928.jpg

This painting was the first of what I hope will be many inspired paintings.

The inspiration caught me off-guard because I was sitting in my brother-in-law’s living room, drinking coffee and watching the kids.  Suddenly, I found myself looking at a freshly painted purple wall over their mantel.  At that point, it was as if a beam of light was shining down on me and I was suspended in mid-air.  I have no idea how long I stared at their blank wall.  I told them right away that I would find something to put there.  Still, it took a few more months, and another visit to finally “see” the trees that were right outside the kitchen window.  Finally, I knew!  I took pictures, and was amazed at how the leaves held on.  Now I could start painting as soon as I got home.

The title of this piece was given to me as I painted it; the words mulling over in my head like a beautiful song. I contemplated how the Lord makes all things beautiful in His timing, and this verse expanded my heart as I painted.  Likewise, I felt as though there was no choice:  the background MUST be white.

Looking at it after it was finished, I was able to understand more.  I realized that I was painting their family tree. Its foundation is purity through grace.  The tree itself reminds me of a picture you might see in a children’s book, which is innocent and whimsical.  The two separate trees growing together are a reflection of their lives.

Acrylic on Canvas
by Misty Bedwell

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on ““All things beautiful”

  1. userdand says:

    Gottcha! Tag. You’re it.

how do you feel?

