wordless words

What would YOUR world be like if you woke up one morning and WORDS no longer existed? What if you could neither use words to speak or understand words of others as a form of communication?

20140218-201000.jpg
Credit: Alicechan @deviantART

Do you think you would have trouble connecting to people? Doing your job? Helping others out?

Can I just suggest here that we are really limiting ourselves if this is the case? Don’t get me wrong, I am not negating the fact that words are extremely powerful.

I just think we limit ourselves to words.

As an artist, I have been exploring the idea that language and communication actually exist solidly in many other ways.

Example. I had a revelation one day…when I realized that I knew with confidence that my dog loved me. I marvelled. I thought. How can I be sure of this? She hasn’t spoken a single word to me! My relationship with my dog is not based on words. Yet we have a very close bond. I would even go so far as to say that I understand what she is thinking, what she is needing, and how she is feeling…yet she hasn’t spoken a single word to me.

As bloggers, words are our pulse, as we limit ourselves almost exclusively to them. As artists, words are our box. Well, the inside of my box is completely covered in paint, and I’m BORED! I need out of here.

My heart beats a little bit faster as I wonder what it is that we aren’t considering? What if there is a different way to communicate that doesn’t get the same credit as words?

…What about the language of music? Dance? Paint? Passion? Aren’t these forms of communication?

…after pondering this…how would you start your wordless morning now?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

how do you feel?

