light house

Almost anybody can accomplish a task when they feel like it. Today, I step out with only an obedient heart, knowing that today is the day.

20140416-112202.jpg

This painting has been a long time coming. It has been finished for almost two months, while I wrestled with the “WHEN” and “HOW”. Some might call that creative instability. Something that started out with the right intentions but lost steam over time.

And part of that might have some truth to it. This painting definitely started out with a heart FULL of inspiration, on a level of which reminded me of the very first one I ever did. But when it was finished, a deep “unknowing” settled in, and I waited for it to clear.

Creativity for the SAKE of being creative is actually NOT my thing. I don’t know if you’ve noticed. I’m not a fan of creativity, although it is probably the number one characteristic most people would use to describe me. If I don’t want creativity, but I AM creative, what is it actually that I am looking for?

If I were to simplify it down to its most basic form, I would say that I want a move of God. I am passionate about hearing what God is saying no matter how uncomfortable. I have been praying for breakthrough…not for inspiration.

Personally, I am concerned about the use of creativity for the sake of having fun or feeling the high that inspiration brings, followed by the quiet lull; and if in a group, the subsequent approval or non approval of weird ideas. I am also concerned about the use of creativity for the purpose of whitewashing old tombs.

I wish I could say that in a way that sounds awesome. Although…I think it can be.

The key here is *what propels the creative juices?* Is it God’s presence, what He is saying, what He is doing, where He is going? Or is it…*how can I spruce this up a bit?*

I want to use creativity to minister to God, not people. If it touches His heart, it will move others.

So having now just said that, here is one WEIRD painting.

Weird, because nobody would want this on their living room wall.
Weird, because many would not have a clue what it means.
Weird, because it might disturb hearts, stir minds, not set them at ease.

And I’m okay with weird. Because I know that God uses the MESS in life to produce a message. I get messy.

“You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept.” [Matt. 5:14]

That was the quote that stirred this painting. You may or may not see it, and that’s ok. Not everyone was meant to see it; that doesn’t diminish the message.

Feel free to comment and say what you see. Or not. It’s ok. Although it is the first “CRAZY” painting I’ve done, I doubt it will be the last.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “light house

  1. Dan says:

    Perhaps YOU were inspired to paint a painting that would cause you question your purpose and search more deeply in pursuit of it.

    • feelingpaint says:

      I don’t feel like my paintings have much to do with me. Now that I just said that, I realize it sounds ridiculous. I feel like the conduit though, in all honesty. There was a lot that has gone on behind the scenes of this one that I didn’t feel free to mention, and I did learn more about myself, but I don’t question my purpose. I just live it.

  2. Dan says:

    I am interested though. Changes are afoot, Watson.

  3. bottledhobbies says:

    This is definitely a good weird, like a really good weird. This painting is so emotional, full of so much creativity, and really inspiring. I can see how the quote made you want to paint. I can see and feel all the symbolize in the painting. Your technical skills are so good and the way you painted your tree is just so great specially with the lights dangling down. Your shading in this painting is amazing. The way you were able to make it seem like the lights were really lighting up the painting.

    Also, I would hang this up on my wall the second I got my hands on it. It’s nice to see a painting by you again and it’s been so long. I’m really happy you posted. This really touched my heart.

    • feelingpaint says:

      I really want to hug you. I am just amazed at what you said and how you can see what I didn’t say. Wow. Thank you so much! I felt a bit melancholy after giving it away, which I expected…but there are three more on their way, so I should be back to normal now. I hope!!

    • bottledhobbies says:

      No problem! Sometimes it takes someone else’s words to enlighten us. Your painting to me really speaks a thousand words to me.
      I can’t wait to see your other paintings. I shall be anticipating them!

  4. This painting is fabulous. There are so many intricate messages within it. I love looking at it. You are blessed. Reminds me of the saying, God is the light in You, as You.

  5. That is just totally awesome!!!

  6. Thought I’d sorted out the ‘following’ thing, but obviously hadn’t, as when you popped into my mind today and I checked your site, I see there’s new posts that I’d not been aware of. Anyway I’ve ticked ‘follow’ again, so hopefully I won’t miss any more of your lovely work. Getting back to this post, and wonderful picture, I understand the self-doubt you experience…I think most people who work from the heart feel a similar way, when it comes to showing their creations, which have been borne from somewhere inside of themselves, that is so personal, private, sincere and open. It’s no wonder we fear being judged is it, when we put so much of ourselves into our work. But it’s our sensitivity, authenticity and search for truth that makes our work special to us, and appealing to others who recognise the message we convey…on whatever level! Whilst I like various elements of each of your pictures, I love the ‘completed’ feel that each provides, in it’s own way. This one is very powerful, where the trees(lovely trees)provide a framework of protection/ownership. Each of your pictures have a magical quality which I adore…the skills you have for creating the scenes you paint is amazing. I’m not trying to convince you to believe in yourself though…I’m simply letting you know that your pictures make me feel a certain something, that touches my spirit. Thank you for reminding me of beauty πŸ™‚

how do you feel?

