“pursuing you”

Every time feels like the first time.

In a way, it was a first. This was the first work that came out of my new studio, so I am feeling sentimental about it. I find myself wishing I could keep it around for a little while longer, but it will be going to its new home in a few short weeks.

In my new studio, there is a tiny rounded patio, only for the purpose of romance in my opinion…because I swing open the doors while I paint and push the music and inspiration outside with my brush and voice.

The title for this painting came out in a moment just like that. I sang. I painted. And I was moved to tears, so now I am eagerly preparing the special message for the new owner.

At this time, it seems, the dragonfly is able to communicate something that is inside of me that needs to be expressed. And there is more on its way. More dragonflies, more paintings, more people…I nod my head in understanding something I cannot yet see.

Two years. That is how long most species of dragonfly spend in the “preparation stage” for life: a stage that ends in only a few short months of flying. But that ability to fly is full developed, expert, complete with the ability to catch their prey in mid-air with their feet. How do they do that? Well, nearly all of the dragonfly’s head is made up of eye…so their vision enables them to see every angle, except for behind them.

I want to live like that.

“Then God said, ‘Let the waters swarm with fish and other life. Let the skies be filled with birds of every kind.'” [Genesis 1:20]

IMG_1820.JPG

24×36″ Mixed medium on canvas
by Misty Bedwell

FUN THINGS OF NOTE:
>This blank canvas was generously donated by Tony Mayo…love it when artists believe in other artists. Please check out his website. Send me a message if you want in on the fun too 🙂

>This painting will be available at the After Dark Gala at The Abbotsford Reach on September 13, 2014 with 100% of the proceeds going to The Reach to further the community of art in Abbotsford.

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on ““pursuing you”

  1. Great that you’re up and running now, and raring to go by the sounds of it. Great work 🙂

how do you feel?

